Spelt Oatmeal Cinnamon Pancakes & Comfort Food Forever

Posted: 19/05/2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks goes by fast, huh?!

Time flies when you’re having fun.  I like to have fun.  Since the health retreat, I’ve been relaxing like crazy on my days off.  Surfing(or floating on a surf board in the ocean), biking, gardening, cooking, baking, eating, writing, drawing, you name it, I’ve been doing it.

I’m a giant fan of comfort food when I’m eating out and about.  I think we all are; it satisfies those cravings that our bodies wants-sugars, salts, oils-they are necessary sometimes(especially for me-I love them some days!).

There’s a newer business here that makes a bunch of these types of foods called Vegan Comfort.  They specialize in grab & go vegan food that is convenient, delicious & satisfying.  It’s ran by a couple sisters named Kristen & Karly that started it after realizing how much raw talent they had in the kitchen & how much of a healthy impact a vegan diet can give.  They started working with the Riverside Arts Market & have been exploring other options around the area.

I’ve had a number of their items like the falafel wrap, chick’n wrap, hummus, baked beans, curried lentils & cauliflower, and a tortilla bowl with a cashew cheeze sauce.  All of them were delicious & hit the spot.  Super convenient too, I love that I can pretty close to run with all of the food and not cause a mess.

I do have to give it up for my favorite thing they’ve got though–it’s called an Adventure Bar-I’ve had a peanut butter bar, a peanut butter & chocolate bar, and a peanut butter & jam bar(they just keep on getting better!!).  Such a decadent treat for any adventure(haha).

It’s such a great concept that hasn’t been really thought of for around the area in Jacksonville, so if in the area, check Vegan Comfort out.  It’s so worth it & the sisters are super nice too.

On to our recipe.  I got a couple free bags of spelt flour & hadn’t really played with it at all, so decided to make some pancakes out of some of it.  They turned out AWESOME.  So awesome, in fact, that I forgot to take pictures again.  I’ll hook you up with more cute dog pictures & I promise that I’ll start taking more pictures before things are devoured.

As for dry ingredients:

1 cup spelt flour
1 cup oatmeal
1 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cinnamon
1/4 t nutmeg

& the wet:

1 cup vanilla almond milk
2 t maple syrup
1 t vanilla

Mix up the dry, mix up the wet, & then mix them all together.  That’s it.  Spoon that on a nonstick griddle heated to 350 & flip them after a couple minutes or when they are browned.

If you are really adventurous, put some applesauce on top of them before you eat them.  The syrup & almond milk give them a good sweetness that shouldn’t require much more on the sugary side of things.

I didn’t even use a fork, but that’s how I eat a lot.

Here’s some unrelated pictures of canine companions being cute.

Teaching the little one new tricks with the treats I told you about a couple of posts back.

Teaching the little one new tricks with the treats I told you about a couple of posts back.

He's a fan of popcorn.

He’s a fan of popcorn.

They aren't up to anything.  Anything at all.

They aren’t up to anything. Anything at all.

Just a relaxing day of making faces at cameras.

Just a relaxing day of making faces at cameras.

There's something with these two, I just can't put my finger on it.

There’s something with these two, I just can’t put my finger on it.

"YOU.  Yes, you.  Bring me my food in a saucer made of pure platinum.  Also, a chalice of your finest wine."

“YOU. Yes, you. Bring me my food in a saucer made of pure platinum. Also, a chalice of your finest wine.”

That’s it for now, hope these pictures sufficed.  Enjoy the warmer temperatures & get you some Vegan Comfort food!

Anyone have any cool ideas for veggie comfort food?  Throw them in the comment field below!!

Have a great couple of weeks everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

