Curried Tabouleh, More Dogs, & A Segue Into Urban Adventures

Posted: 23/06/2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’d like to think we are all insane in our own ways.

My particular insanity is not to wear socks safety-pinned to my ears in a dresser drawer filled with ice cubes while reading a copy of Atlas Shrugged backwards, though I’m sure someone is doing that right now somewhere in the world.

My insanity is usually visualizing things like the last sentence & sometimes coming up with stuff that is completely weird in the kitchen.  Like curried tabouleh(or tabouli, spell it either way, spell check is flagging it here.).

This is really easy & it stemmed from me not having lemon juice when I really wanted to make tabouleh one night and didn’t want to go back out to the store or community garden where there are some citrus trees planted.

Cook some cracked bulgar wheat.  When that is cooked fully, take about four cups of that stuff & toss it in the fridge to cool down.  While all of that is going on, mince about two cups of parsley, mince three cloves of garlic, dice four medium tomatoes, dice one enormous cucumber, and mix that all together.  That is your veggie mix for when the bulgar wheat is cooled a bit.

Once the bulgar wheat isn’t steaming or scalding hot, mix the veggie mix into it gently.  As soon as everything is pretty consistent, add one teaspoon of curry powder, about a tablespoon of olive oil, & a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar.  Mix that for a bit, put some salt & pepper into it to fit your tastes, and you’re done!

It should look like this:

 

Very close shot.  I was actually eating out of the bowl at the same time.

Very close shot. I was actually eating out of the bowl at the same time.

Let it sit for about an hour to let the flavors mix & enjoy!  I put some in a tortilla with spinach & that was awesome too.  I like tabouleh a lot.

More dog pictures…..

They like grapefruit.

They like grapefruit.

They like mimicking each other.

They like mimicking each other.

They like abnormally large radishes just pulled from the community garden.

They like abnormally large radishes just pulled from the community garden.

They even like yawning on top of the couch.

They even like yawning on top of the couch.

They do like sleeping though.

They do like sleeping though.

They like sleeping A LOT.  Well, one of them does.

They like sleeping A LOT. Well, one of them does.

In the title, I promised a segue into urban adventures.  That already happened in my world.  I just walked ten miles through some pretty rough parts of town & then some pretty awesome parts of town & then some rough parts again.  I’d like to think that no one really messed with me because it really isn’t as bad as what the news makes it out to be in the real world.  I’ve been through some pretty sketchy areas in large cities all over, & I think the key to walking through it without worry is to relax & just walk.  Don’t think too hard about it, worrying about if someone is going to jump you from behind the green, overly religious house/bunker with holiday lights up spelling out something from the bible.  Be aware of your surroundings, it isn’t that bad out there, I promise.  There are a whole lot of worse places out there, and usually they are the places you expect the least.

My boss joked that it might have been my beard that made people think that I was some sort of homeless person too, immediately and abruptly losing all subtlety in his underlying intent to convince me to shave my beard.  I was wearing some pretty nice clothes that day, so it couldn’t have been my stylish mane dissuading the mugger around every corner.

Now, with the beard trimmed so that I look like a double for Adam Levine, I should try the walk again in the future.

The problem is, my beard already started growing back.

I’ll write about the urban adventures next time.  Until then, safe travels!!

Seeya!!

Seeya!!

 

Comments
  1. Sally says:

    I wish I could make Zeus sit pretty 🙂 And I wish we had a community garden nearby.

  2. Nice recipe, thanks for sharing buddy!

Leave a Reply

