Broccoli Sunflower Pesto, Food Demos, & a Dog Holding a Coffee Travel Mug

Posted: 06/10/2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Let’s go ahead & get this out of the way.

Yes, I'm the guy that runs up to you if you have a cute pup & asks if I can take a picture.  I'm not ashamed at all.  (I also squeal while doing so)

Yes, I’m the guy that runs up to you if you have a cute pup & asks if I can take a picture. I’m not ashamed at all. (I also squeal while doing so)

Okay.

We saw that guy at the #NachoBar at the Beaches Green Market, which we work weekly from 2-5 on Saturdays in Neptune Beach.  This is what we do:

That's the pesto on top.  Not the brussels sprouts, but the other green stuff.

That’s the pesto on top. Not the brussels sprouts, but the other green stuff.

I was invited by Kerry Speckman, also known by the fantastic moniker, the Specktator(find her blog here, I promise it won’t disappoint!), to guest chef a food demo on the Jacksonville Magazine stage at the Home & Patio Fall Show.  I had done demos for the spring show a couple of times(you can find details of that here).

This time around, I decided to work with the broccoli sunflower pesto we made for the #NachoBar.  The fact that everything was just blended made the show easy & then I could answer any questions regarding the health aspects.  I served it on a bed of rice & garnished it with some diced tomatoes & olive oil.  It looked pretty, I must say.

It is pretty.  Oh so pretty.  & tasty.

It is pretty. Oh so pretty. & tasty.

Basically, all you do is put all of this in a blender:  4C lightly cooked broccoli(use the stalks too–there are lots of vitamins in there), 1C of the water you cooked it in,  2C sunflower seeds, 1/4C lemon juice, 2C basil(I used some lavender basil from the community garden), 3T olive oil, 3 small cloves of garlic & 1/4C of nutritional yeast.  Salt to taste.  Blend that until it is just before creamy.  You want it to be almost pasty, so add water as you need too.

The next day, I spooned some onto some potato disks I had baked in the oven & those were AWESOME.  Try that out too.

I should have put a basil leaf on every one of these.

I should have put a basil leaf on every one of these.

That’s so easy I can just stop bothering you right now.  Definitely try it out with other variations like on rice noodles or maybe even topping polenta.  Possibilities for this stuff are endless!

Whatever you do, enjoy!

Comments
  1. Aniqa says:

    I completely understand you about the pup thing. For some reason I usually squeal dogyyy when I see one :))

    aniqadreams.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

