Busy Slacking, Curried Black-Eyed Pea & Quinoa Patties, & Dogs Moving Places

Posted: 06/12/2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not sure if I mentioned it before, but I moved.

That should go a long way as far as excuses go regarding not writing on the blog for a bit, right?

The pups are even going to be on the side of a Uhaul truck soon for a picture I snapped & threw on the interwebs:

They were excited to get into a giant monster of a moving truck.

They were excited to get into a giant monster of a moving truck.

No, seriously.  Apparently Uhaul has a group of people keeping an eye on anytime the name is used on platforms like Twitter & then they reach out to get permission to use pictures like that for the sides of their trucks.  Not a bad gig, I would think.

So the move was incredibly easy considering the pups & I were moving from an apartment to our own house.  They were pretty cool when it came to getting to know the new digs & love the big backyard that’s fenced.

They have a ton of room, & now we live a block away from a park, so walks occur pretty often.  More recently, I’ve been sick & had the pleasure of Little Baby Alec Baldwin being my health-helper.

He's there whether I want help or not.

He’s there whether I want help or not.

A little bit ago, I made up some breakfast patties for fun.  That’s kind of a good time if you’re adventurous in the kitchen & like to mix things up(hahahahah….hah…ha).

I started with a couple of cups of black-eyed peas.  Mash them well.

Mash just a little more than this.

Mash just a little more than this.

The idea is always to use the bean as a binder, so have enough mashed to get it to stick in a patty when you have the rest of the ingredients in there.

As for the rest of the ingredients….I put a cup of cooked quinoa, a tablespoon of curry powder, half of a small yellow onion minced, two cloves of garlic, a dash of salt & a splash of lemon juice in with the mashed beans.  To get it extra sticky, I added some flour to the mix & then for some more flavor, minced a datil pepper & threw that in.

This doesn't really look too appetizing.  Yet.

This doesn’t really look too appetizing. Yet.

Get a little ice cream disher to scoop out patties & just slap them on a griddle with heated oil.

Mmmmmmm....patties.

Mmmmmmm….patties.

They look a little better.

They look a little better.

I was hungry.

I was hungry.

Just throw those in a wrap, on a bun or by themselves.  I made a tahini based sauce for them & that worked well with the flavor profile.

Pretty easy recipe, it’s kind of what I do.

To finish out the post, here’s a pic of the pups in the new house:

This is just their normal pose I guess.

This is just their normal pose I guess.

Have a great week & I’ll be back on regularly….unless I move again.

Which won’t happen.

This place is awesome.

Leave a Reply

