Fermenting Stuff, #NachoBar, & Pups Like Kumquats.

Posted: 13/04/2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Who would’ve thought going on vacation(or just taking a few days off of the ol’ day gig) would have kept me so busy?  I really didn’t.

I rode about forty or fifty miles on a beach cruiser bike around town, visited One Spark a handful of times, finished a design for a shirt that I’m pedaling for a few bucks, caught a lot of cool music shows, went to St. Augustine with my family & today kind of relaxing or catching up from the residual hangover from the week of insanity.

The shameless plug for the shirt.  I designed it because the governor likes to ban the topic of climate change among government officials.  Bans.  The.  Entire.  Topic.

The shameless plug for the shirt. I designed it because the governor likes to ban the topic of climate change among government officials. Bans. The. Entire. Topic.

I’m pretty sure I’m leaving something out, but it’s fine.

There were a lot of beers drank.

A LOT.

But this is a food/pup blog, so let’s get on with that.

Lately I’ve been playing in the kitchen with fermenting, whether it’s rejuvelac for culturing vegan cheese, sauerkraut, or kimchi.

I’ve always been a fan of kimchi & trying to get people to enjoy it.  It is, unfortunately, something that people either like or despise, and trying to figure out a delicious non-traditional way to make it considering there is fish paste in it most of the time is a daunting task.

But I did it.

And it’s really easy.

Take a head of cabbage(napa if you’re trying to go traditional) & shred it to about 1/8″ strips.  Add 2T of sea salt, 2t of red pepper flakes, 2t of minced ginger, a cup of sliced green onions, & 2t of sugar to the shredded cabbage in a bowl.  The cabbage should start sweating almost immediately.  Cover it with another bowl with a little weight to it & it should look a little like this:

I press the cabbage with multiple bowls to get things going efficiently.

I press the cabbage with multiple bowls to get things going efficiently.

From there, cover the bowl & let it sit for about 24 hours.  Take a peek at it & make sure that the liquid that is being pulled from the cabbage is now covering all of the mix.  If it isn’t, press it a bit harder until it does, which shouldn’t take too much effort if the cabbage is fresh.

Let that sit covered for four to five days at room temperature away from sunlight.  After that, it should have a pickled scent to it.  Throw it in a jar, press it under the liquid(save all the liquid) with a fork & put it in the refrigerator to enjoy whenever.  This usually lasts around three months if I don’t go crazy & eat it all on a bed of jasmine rice first.

MMMMMMMkimchi.

MMMMMMMkimchi.

Like I said, it isn’t really traditional, so it isn’t going to look like the stuff you’ll buy in the store.  But it’s damned tasty.

We’ve been setting up the #NachoBar at some green events around town & are going to be at Welcome to Rockville, a giant two-day concert in the heart of Jacksonville.  We’re going to be popping up at other events soon as well & should be having a blast with the vegan nachos.  We had some high-profile characters at our last endeavor:

The mayor is back!  This time, his eyes are open for the photo!!

The mayor is back! This time, his eyes are open for the photo!!  Actually, everyone’s eyes are.  & we’re all creepy with the red eyes.  Except for my photobombing friend in the back.  He’s hilarious.

I mean, craft beer & vegan nachos, how can you go wrong?

I mean, craft beer & vegan nachos, how can you go wrong?

Other than that, I think life has been a little busy(albeit fun) recently.  Here are the puppy pics for the post, enjoy!

SO HAPPY.  They just got back from a walk.

SO HAPPY. They just got back from a walk.

They get tired shortly after.  And they mock each other.

They get tired shortly after. And they mock each other.

It almost looks like the ball is screaming.

It almost looks like the ball is screaming.

SEE??!!  They love kumquats!!

SEE??!! They love kumquats!!

They also like my Southwest tofu scramble.  Well, just looking at it.  Because I gotta eat too.

They also like my Southwest tofu scramble. Well, just looking at it. Because I gotta eat too.

That’s it this time around, get in the kitchen & have some fun!!

Leave a Reply

