I’ve Got Writer’s Block, So Let’s Write a Cookbook. And Dogs.

Posted: 07/06/2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Disclaimer:  I don’t really have writer’s block.

On the contrary, I’ve been writing a lot.  Just not on the interwebs.

I’ve been really busy with work and playing around with vegan cheeses & fermentations as of late.  It seems like I’ve always got a science experiment on my kitchen counter at any given time.

Most recently, I found a cool recipe for smoked gouda & started playing around with variations of it to make it more simple & just have fun.  I never really played with coconut milk as the base for a vegan cheese, but it works really well & there’s so many different things you can do with it.

As cheddar was my all-time favorite flavor, that was my starting point.  Again, SO EASY.

Put a can of full fat coconut milk, 1/4C of water, 1/4C of nutritional yeast, 1T sea salt, 1T miso, 1/4C tapioca starch & 2T agar powder into a blender or food processor & blend that until it is completely mixed.  Throw that into a saucepan & cook on medium for about ten minutes or until the mixture starts to pull away from the sides of the pan.  Put that mix into a glass mold & set it in the refrigerator for a few hours.

Take it out of the mold and eat the entire recipe in one sitting.

EASY, RIGHT??

Well, you can save some for grilled cheeses too.  It just so happens that this is perfect for heating back up so it starts to get all melty.  I love it with some sourdough & roasted onions.  Like this.

So many noms.

So many noms.  That’s with olive sourdough, BTW.

If you really want to have fun, you can play around with the recipe and add all kinds of stuff.  Like noodles.  Or vegan sausage.  Or broccoli.  Or all of the things.

I should put this in between some olive sourdough.

I should put this in between some olive sourdough.

I have been talking about it for some time now, and I have a ton of recipes & pictures.  So I’m going to be working on a cookbook to fund a vegan food cart or a food truck.  Hopefully by the end of this year.  I’ve got to do some more research on publishing & fund-raising for it, but the entire premise of the book is to help people convert into a plant-based diet in a healthy manner.

NOT by eating vegan pizza in front of your dogs on a daily basis.

NOT by eating vegan pizza in front of your dogs on a daily basis.

The issue is that so many people starting on a plant-based diet do so by eating all of the processed junk and nothing else.  Mind, that’s not horrible if you are taking supplements, but if you want to have a smooth, healthy transition, you are going to have to understand what to eat.  And that, sadly makes vegan pizza something you should only have once a week when you first start out on your adventure.

Then you ease yourself into a daily regimen of vegan pizza.

Kidding.  Don’t do that.

So that’s the basis of the book.  I would love for it to be educational, humorous, & full of cool things that are easy for people to try out, even if they aren’t jumping on the veg-wagon.

If anyone has any input on publishing or anything regarding cookbooks, leave me a comment below.  I’d love to learn as much as I can & find out how to do this stuff.

Plus, it will fund a veg-cart/truck/business(these are all long-term goals & aspirations) so hopefully you can go to a ball park here and find some cool vegan food.

I found a salad bar at a stadium recently.  I think they serve peanuts somewhere too.

I found a salad bar at a stadium recently. I think they serve peanuts somewhere too.

So that’s it.  Let me know if you have any input & I’ll keep everyone updated on the status of the cookbook.

And now, a couple of pictures of pups:

It's Soul-Eater...er...I mean Cinder.

It’s Soul-Eater…er…I mean Cinder.

Not sure why he sits so cute, but he does a great job at it.

Not sure why he sits so cute, but he does a great job at it.

Someone has their eyes closed for the family picture.  Someone else looks like they're expecting food immediately.

Someone has their eyes closed for the family picture. Someone else looks like they’re expecting food immediately.

Have a great week & write you later!!

Leave a Reply

